Quarantine-Free Travel To Croatia For English Tourists

Discover the latest info regarding travel to Croatia

The UK Government has confirmed that tourists returning from Croatia to England will not be subject to self-isolation measures. Announcing on Friday, the Department for Transport said that the new rules will come in to force from 10 July. The changes mean that tourists from England will now be able to arrive and holiday in Croatia, and return to England with ease. Returning tourists are required to complete a passenger locator form before arrival in the UK.

New international flight routes announced

British carrier, JET2 has announced that it will commence some of its routes to Croatia from mid-July. The budget airline operates from Manchester, Leeds, East Midlands, Birmingham, and London. British Airways has announced its service to Dubrovnik will operate from London's Heathrow, three times a week from July 16. The service will run on Mondays, Thursdays and Saturdays.

FlyDubai has also confimed it will resume flying twice weekly to Dubrovnik on July 16, with changes to scheduling possible. Spanish budget carrier, Vueling will commence reduced operations from Rome and Barcelona to Split and Dubrovnik from July 14 onwards.

For more information on Croatia Airlines' international routes to Zagreb, Split and Dubrovnik, click here.  

*The below info is taken from the government-run website koronavirus.hr and Total Croatia News

Tourists from all EU member states are not subject to quarantine upon arrival in Croatia as of June 22

For visitors from non-EU member states, some restrictions in place: they can enter on business or tourism-related reasons only:

1. Proof of ownership of property of a boat (a lessee also acceptable), attendance of a funeral or wedding (documentation required).

2. An invitation by a Croatian business or a paid tourist reservation.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, as from 1 July EU member states should start lifting the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:

  • Algeria
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican should be considered as EU residents for the purpose of this recommendation.

The criteria to determine the third countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted cover, in particular, the epidemiological situation and containment measures, including physical distancing, as well as economic and social considerations. They are applied cumulatively.

Regarding the epidemiological situation, third countries listed should meet the following criteria, in particular:

  • number of new COVID-19 cases over the last 14 days and per 100 000 inhabitants close to or below the EU average (as it stood on 15 June 2020)
  • a stable or decreasing trend of new cases over this period in comparison to the previous 14 days
  • overall response to COVID-19 taking into account available information, including on aspects such as testing, surveillance, contact tracing, containment, treatment and reporting, as well as the reliability of the information and, if needed, the total average score for International Health Regulations (IHR). Information provided by EU delegations on these aspects should also be taken into account.

Reciprocity should also be taken into account regularly and on a case-by-case basis.

For countries where travel restrictions continue to apply, the following categories of people should be exempted from the restrictions:

  1. EU citizens and their family members
  2. long-term EU residents and their family members
  3. travelers with an essential function or need, as listed in the Recommendation.

Special lanes at border control  to speed up entry for Enter Croatia users

The Croatian Government announced also on Friday that special lanes at border crossing points such as Bregana, Macelj, Rupa, and Plovanija allow for faster entry for those visitors who have completed the Enter Croatia form online in advance of arrival. All visitors to Croatia are advised to complete this form in advance of arrival, the Croatian Ministry for the Interior (MUP) will then review the information provided in advance of your arrival to reduce wait times at border crossings.

For more information regarding tours, small ship cruises and shore excursions in Croatia, contact the friendly and professional team at Adriatic DMC here.


Contact us...